The Secret Life Of Bees

Bees-cvr.png

Rating: 5/5

 

One of the best books I ever read!

The description, The emotions, The portrait of characters & The plot, all of them are blended to perfection.

The story consists of a tragedy and how the protagonist overcomes it. I never like to talk about the story as I don’t want to ruin the reader of the pleasure of finding the exact plot while reading the book. (If you want, you can read synopsis on Goodreads)

I am proud to put this book on the shelf consisting the other masterpiece “The book thief”, both of them encapsulated me like no book ever did.

Β 

This is the kind of book which you don’t want to read in a go> If you are like me than you will take small bites just to make the book last long ! I read everyday just before bed & not for more than 30 mins because I didn’t want this book to end 😦

 

Also, this is the kind of book, after reading which you don’t feel like reading anything else for a while, All you want to do is to sit back and think about the story, about the characters & re-read the highlighted lines again & again just to relive some moments from the book again!

 

Β Me while reading this book:

description

 

I am sure to re-read this book pretty soon.

Β 


Β My favorite excerpts from the book:

“Rosaleen had never had a child herself, so for the last ten years I’d been her pet guinea pig”

“I worried so much about how I looked and whether I was doing things right, I felt half the time I was impersonating a girl instead of really being one”

“The sun had baked everything to perfection; even the gooseberries on the fence had fried to raisins”

“I have noticed that if you look carefully at people’s eyes the first five seconds they look at you, the truth of their feelings will shine through for just Β an instant before it flickers away”

“Every living creature on the earth is special. You want to be the one who puts an end to one of them?”


Β My favorite Quotes from the book:

“Regret’ don’t help anything”

“People can start out one way, and by the time life gets through with them they end up completely different”

Β 


Thanks for reading the review.

I would be glad if you share your views πŸ™‚

If you have read this book, How much did you like it? & If not, Are you planning to read it?

& Which is your favorite book, which encapsulated you nothing else!

14 thoughts on “The Secret Life Of Bees

  1. Hi Abhijeet,

    I am an English teacher, and I have taught this book several times in my career. It is always one of my students’ favorites, and one of mine as well. I’m happy to see someone just coming across it and reading it for fun. I think Sue Monk Kidd’s writing is extraordinary: the terrible sad death towards the end, and particularly the final confrontation between the main character and the person she thought she had escaped, are amazing. One of my favorite moments is actually when Lily is angry at June, and she decides to urinate outside instead of going into the house, and then she thinks about how she and June are not so different because they all pee the same way — and “piss is piss.” Always makes me laugh.

    Other books that capture and encapsulate me? Fahrenheit 451 by Ray Bradbury, The Kite Runner by Khaled Hosseini, Of Mice and Men by John Steinbeck. The Lord of the Rings by J.R.R. Tolkien.

    Good review. Keep reading!

    Liked by 1 person

    • It’s awesome that school students get to read this beautiful book!
      The book teaches soo much about life (& bees too πŸ˜‚) .

      I am planning to read “the invention of wings” have you read it ?

      “Piss is piss” really cracked me up πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

      Is have read “of mice & men” is really good ! The tone of author is amazing , I especially loved the way “Lenny” speaksπŸ˜‚

      Will soon read the other books suggested by you!

      Thanks for your beautiful comment πŸ˜‡

      Like

  2. I had to read this for my English class earlier this year and to be honest, I didn’t love it. I think the writing was really good and the plot was relatively interesting but something about the book just didn’t draw me in. We talked about it in class and my teacher said that maybe I didn’t like the mood or the theme in the book. I don’t know but it definitely wasn’t my favourite.
    Interesting to see your thoughts on it though!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

